DESPERATE, BUT NOT DESPERATE ENOUGH

I know it’s biblical to fast.  The bible makes it clear in Mark 9:29 that there are certain things that come to pass  only by prayer….and here comes the “rub…” fasting.  That’s not some isolated scripture either.  References on fasting appear in both the old and new testaments.  Just a small smattering are Matthew 6:16-18, Acts 13:3, Nehemiah 1:4, Daniel 6:18 ns Luke 4:2, and who can forget Queen Esther who was instrumental in saving the Jewish people from annilation by prayer and fasting and instructing her maid servants to do the same when the wicked Haman was so close to accomplishing his devious plot.  The whole hair raising tale can be found in Esther 4:16.

As I said, I know it’s biblical.  There is power in fasting, and the few times I’ve managed to accomplish my goal without indulging in a few hasty  bites here and there, I have experienced its benefits.  I have never attempted to go beyond three days, drinking water only.  Most of the time, I’m doing well to get through one complete day, but I know it’s something I need to be doing more consistently and with less reluctance.

Fasting is even good for us from a secular point of view.  It gives our hard-working, over taxed digestive system a break.  It also helps us break down and eliminate toxins, something beneficial to all of us attempting to exsist on this planet, but having said all that, fasting is not fun, especially if you are an avowed “foodie.”  My over the top cook book collection and penchant for ordering edible items from Amazon’s “subscribe and save” will attest to the fact that I fall into this category.

My dilemma is that I am desperate to see some break throughs in my own life and the lives of my family, and that doesn’t even include prayer requests from equally desperate people who I care about.   I need answers.  I need change.  I need to drop some pounds (okay, that’s kind of besides the point), so you would think I would be willing to padlock the fridge and cupboards for three days, which is hardly a blip on the radar screen of time (except when Haagan Daas ice cream bars are involved).

How easy it is to decide to obstain from food the evening before the scheduled fast.  Sometimes things are going swimmingly even on the appointed day, but then someone calls with a lunch invite or comes by with some leftover cheesecake or you just happen to find yourself browsing through the latest issue of Bon Appetit, and suddenly tomorrow seems like a much more sensible day to begin.

These are the types of things that happen when you are desperate, but not desperate enough.  To that end, I’ve ordered from Amazon (simultaneous to writing out my shopping list for Sprouts) a book titled “The Power of Fasting.”  It tells the story of a pastor who was desperate to see his wife healed of a serious illness.  To that end, he began a consistent regiman of fasting for her and as a way to get closer to the throne room of God.  All the scriptures on fasting should be enough, but for some reason, personal testimonies seem to really drive a point home for me.

In the meantime, perhaps a study of all those scriptures on fasting is in order.  I am making meatloaf and mashed potatoes for tonight’s dinner, but tomorrow is another day!

Leave a Reply

