CHRISTMAS DINNER…FUN OR FIASCO

Technically this isn’t really a Christmas event.  I have invited some family members over for a pre-Christmas dinner to be held on 12/21.  The reason for this is some of the guests will be elsewhere on Christmas day, and I have gifts for them, so I thought it would be a good idea to get everyone together for fun, frolic, fellowship and gift exchange.  I also want to impart into this get together, the true reason we are celebrating.  I want us to acknowledge the birth of Messiah, the light of the world.  I want to sing Christmas carols and read the Christmas story to the children who will be present…large and small.  I also want to be filled with good cheer about creating a delectable meal for people I love.  I do like to cook, and I enjoy feeding people, but for some reason, I am filled with trepidation about cooking this meal for upwards of 30 people.  I have done Thanksgiving and Christmas before, and I have felt pretty confident about it.  Actually I didn’t stew about it at all.  I just plunged in and did what needed to be done, but this time I am overthinking it.  Perhaps one of the reasons is that I was in a serious car accident four years ago and am still not comfortable standing for long periods of time.  I’m also not sure I have cooked for so many people before.  There will be a lot of young children present, and kids can be picky.  Heck, I’m picky and am probably inserting my own food issues into the guests’ enjoyment (or lack, thereof) of the vittles.  I want everyone to have a great time and enjoy every morsel of food, but I feel I’m becoming overly invested in making sure this happens.

I just need to take a deep breath and remember why I’m doing this in the first place.  When I bought this house, I offered it up to God.  I told him I wanted to be hospitable and honor him with study of His word, praise and worship and feeding people out of my kitchen, so I’m placing my hand in His and asking him to replace fear of man  with faith in Him, culinary anxiety with the joy of the Lord and self induced pressure with praise of the One who created me and every guest that walks through this door.

Leave a Reply

