GUESS I’M NEEDED HERE

We’ve been living in this house for about a year and a half.  I bought this house with my daughter and her family, which includes two children, ages five and ten months as well as a 27-year-old youngest daughter.  The yougenst daughter (hereinafter referred to as YD) gets very irritiable if she is hindered in preparing and eating her breakfast.  She is the baby’s nanny, and he is very clingy, especially with her, because he’s very attached and tries to pull on her when she’s cooking.  Long story short…I end up holding the baby while she’s preparing her food (breakfast AND lunch) and also while she is enjoying a liesurely meal.  That can easily take up a few hours a day.  

Today the five-year-old is also home from school, because apparently the alarm to wake up her daddy did not go off, and by the time he woke up, she would have been very late for school, and it was pouring, so here she is at home talking a mile a minute, wanting to play, etc as I attempt to create what will surely be a less than perfect post.  Her mommy is off from work today, but has a million errands, so she probably won’t be around much.  To top it off, it’s been pouring (and, yes, I prayed for rain, and I will not apologize for its arrival) and the roof is leaking and will probably need to be replaced, so I was designated to make calls to prospective roofers this morning while simultaneously making my granddaughter a bagle with cream cheese and jelly.  Granted that did not involved complex cooking skills, but it was another thing to do, and I have my own rainy day agenda.  I want to throw some chicken in the oven early.  I want to drink some water with lemon in it.  I am trying to stay out of the way of PMS-ing, down with the flu, hungry YD who is not the easiest person to live with in the best of times.  So why is she here at the age of 27 I can hear you asking, but that’s a topic for another post.  I also want to complete a bible study in my workbook, and a little while on the exercise bike before the rain resumes wouldn’t be such a bad idea either.

Back to the roof.  At first I couldn’t get ahold of anyone and suddenly there is a roofer on my cell phone and one holding on the house phone.  There is also one here in person talking to my son-in-law.  When it rains, it pours as evidenced by the torrential downpour we have been experiencing after a vertiable drought.

 I like the guy who is currently working down the street.  He is young, a new Christian and a new daddy with a three-month-old baby whose still in the hospital after surgery.  When this guy leaves, I will call the other guy, and he can give a quote too.  My heart really goes out to this young family, and it would be great to throw a little business his way.

Son-in-law just told me they are going with the first guy since he showed up first, so that’s the way it is…the early roofer gets the dinero.

Feel guilty for not playing with granddaughter even though she should be in school and not here, so I’m gonna run now and season the chicken before I’m needed for something else, roof related or otherwise.  Oops, too late.  Gotta transfer money from savings to checking.  Done…and now I have a date with chicken parts and a granddaughter.

Definitely needed around here.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

